ION Alberta Lunch Meeting – Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Date: Wednesday, May 4th, 2016

Time: Registration at 11:30, presentation to start at noon

Location: Room ST 131, University of Calgary




Navigation Using Variations in the Earth’s Magnetic Field


Dr. John Raquet, Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT)


The Earth’s magnetic field has been used for centuries for the purpose of finding north.  This talk describes a completely different approach at using the earth’s magnetic field to navigate, which involves determining absolute position by comparing measured magnetic field variations with a pre-stored map. This talk will describe magnetic field navigation approach in indoor and outdoor (ground) environments, but the primary focus will be on recent work on magnetic field navigation in airborne environment.  This talk will describe the components of the earth’s magnetic field and the approaches used to isolate the “useful” components.   Results will be presented from a flight test which demonstrated 10m level accuracy positioning of an aircraft using just an INS, barometric altimeter, and magnetometer under ideal conditions.  Results will also be shown for a cross-country flight using an existing national magnetic field map, demonstrating that the poor map quality resulted in significant degradations in accuracy when compared to the ideal case using a high quality map.

Speaker’s Bio

John Raquet is the Director of the Autonomy and Navigation Technology (ANT) Center at the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), where he is also a Professor of Electrical Engineering. Dr Raquet has a PhD in Geomatics Engineering from the University of Calgary, an MS in Aero/Astro Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a BS in Astronautical Engineering from the US Air Force Academy. The ANT Center is a multiple-department research center involving 25 faculty, 40-50 students, and 12 staff members who are all working in areas of autonomy and navigation.  Dr. Raquet has published over 150 navigation-related conference and journal papers and taught 50 navigation-related short courses to over 2600 students in many different organizations. In 2010, Dr. Raquet was a Fulbright Scholar in Finland.  He is currently the Executive Vice President of the Institute of Navigation and is an ION Fellow.


To ensure that we have enough food and chairs on hand, we would appreciate if you could let us know if you will be attending by sending an email to one of the members of the executive:

Chair: Mark Petovello,

Vice Chair: Kyle O’Keefe,

Treasurer: John B. Schleppe,

Secretary: Neil Gerein,


$18 members,

$20 non-members,

$15 students.

Notice of Election

The election of the executive for 2015/2016 will be held at noon on Tuesday, February 17th in Room ENE 328 at the University of Calgary. If you are interested in running for any of these positions, please contact the chapter treasurer, John Schleppe, at   The following members have offered to continue in the executive positions, but nominations from the floor will also be accepted:

*Chair, Mark Petovello has offered to continue
*Vice Chair, Kyle O’Keefe has offered to continue
*Treasurer, John Schleppe has offered to continue
*Secretary, Neil Gerein has offered to continue
All current ION members are entitled to run for office and to vote.