ION Alberta Lunch Meeting – July 30, 2018

Date: Monday, July 30

Time: Registration at 11:45am, presentation starts at 12:00pm (noon)

Location: University of Calgary, Science B 148


Parking: http://www.ucalgary/map

Presentation Title:

UAVs vs Natural Autonomous Vehicles (NAVs): Are We Closing the Gap?


Dr. John Raquet, Director of the Autonomy and Navigation Technology (ANT) Center at the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT)


There have been many significant advancements in UAV technology over the past 10-15 years. In this presentation, we will step back and evaluate how well we are really doing in this area by comparing performance of UAVs with those of Natural Autonomous Vehicles (NAVs), defined as entities that fly but are not designed, built, or controlled by a humans (birds, for example). Performance will be evaluated according to eight different metrics, and the “best in class” UAVs and NAVs for each metric are directly compared. The picture that emerges provides insight into where to put our UAV development efforts as we move toward the future.

Speaker’s Bio

Dr. Raquet is the Director of the Autonomy and Navigation Technology (ANT) Center at the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), where he is also a Professor of Electrical Engineering. He has a multidisciplinary background teaching in electrical engineering but having degrees in geomatics engineering (Ph.D., University of Calgary, 1998), aero/astro engineering (SM, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1991), and astronautical engineering (BS, US Air Force Academy, 1989). He has published over 180 navigation-related conference and journal papers and taught 70 navigation-related short courses to over 3000 students in many different organizations. He is currently the President of the Institute of Navigation (ION), and is an ION Fellow.


To ensure that we have enough food and chairs on hand, we would appreciate if you could let us know if you will be attending by sending an email to one of the members of the executive:

Chair: Chris Goodall,

Vice Chair: Kyle O’Keefe,

Treasurer: John B. Schleppe,

Secretary: Landon Urquhart,



$18 members,

$20 non-members,

$15 students.

Notice of Election

The election of the executive for 2015/2016 will be held at noon on Tuesday, February 17th in Room ENE 328 at the University of Calgary. If you are interested in running for any of these positions, please contact the chapter treasurer, John Schleppe, at   The following members have offered to continue in the executive positions, but nominations from the floor will also be accepted:

*Chair, Mark Petovello has offered to continue
*Vice Chair, Kyle O’Keefe has offered to continue
*Treasurer, John Schleppe has offered to continue
*Secretary, Neil Gerein has offered to continue
All current ION members are entitled to run for office and to vote.

2013 Election Results

ION Alberta Section officers Mark Petovello, Kyle O’Keefe, Neil Gerein and John Scheleppe were acclaimed for another one year term at the Monday November 25 meeting of the section.

John Scheleppe has now served on the executive for 15 years. John was presented a certificate from the national office and an ION tie in recognition of his long service. Thank you John!