ION Alberta Lunch Meeting – Thursday, December 7, 2017

Dr Naser El-Sheimy gave a presentation on 25-Years of Inertial Navigation at University of Calgary: State of the Art and Future Trends


Dr.  Naser El-Sheimy, PEng, CRC
Professor and Canada Research Chair
Fellow, the US Institute of Navigation (ION)
Dept of Geomatics Engineering,
The University of Calgary

Speaker’s Bio

Dr. Naser El-Sheimy is Professor and former Head of the Department of Geomatics Engineering, the University of Calgary. He holds a Tier-I Canada Research Chair (CRC) in Geomatics Multi-sensor Systems. His research expertise includes Geomatics multi-sensor systems, GPS/INS integration, and mobile mapping systems.

Dr. El-Sheimy published two books, 6 book chapters and over 450 papers in academic journals, conference and workshop proceedings, in which he has received over 30 national and international paper awards. He supervised and graduated over 60 Masters and PhD students. He is the recipient of many national and international awards including the ASTech “Leadership in Alberta Technology” Award the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists, and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) Educational Excellence Award. He also received the Schulich School of Engineering Research Excellence Award, the Schulich School of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award, The UofC Student Union Teaching Excellence Award, and 4 times the departmental teaching award, 2 times departmental research excellence award, and the department of Geomatics Engineering Graduate Educator Award. Dr. El-Sheimy was the president of Commission I on “Sensors and Platforms” of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) from 2008 – 2012. He organized and participated in organizing many national and international conferences and chaired many conferences such as the USA Institute of Navigation Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS). Dr. El-Sheimy is currently a member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Survey Review, Journal of Applied Geodesy, and Coordinates. He served as a member of the Alberta Geomatics Group Board of Directors, Geoide NCE Board of Directors, and Technical Committee Member of the ASPRS Direct Georeferencing Committee.


To ensure that we have enough food and chairs on hand, we would appreciate if you could let us know if you will be attending by sending an email to one of the members of the executive:

Chair: Chris Goodall,

Vice Chair: Kyle O’Keefe,

Treasurer: John B. Schleppe,

Secretary: Landon Urquhart,


$18 members,

$20 non-members,

$15 students.